Novice starting

Dear Rhys, dear all,

I recently joined up in the node-carplay and react-carplay activities and have some novice questions.
I am also new to the world of NPM, but picking up rapidly.

Thank you very much for this entry into the carplay world for Jaguar. It is a quite steep installation path to get things running for my 2010 Jaguar XK. In particular, I am interested to get Carplay running, and to use CANBUS commands to read the status of vehicle parameters and possibly even command several functions from the screen. Ideally, I would even by-pass the original screen and replace it by a raspberry pi driven solution.

In particular, I would currently like to monitor the functioning of all convertible roof switches and sensors, possibly even fully control the roof via CANBUS.

For now, I am still at my novice steps, for which I present the following topics:

Issue1: how to put a prototyping screen to work?

I purchased a 2nd hand Jaguar touch screen for prototyping. When applying 12V power to it (+12V to pin 1, earth to pin 6), it boots up nicely with a Jaguar logo. However, after about a minute, it powers down completely, apparently in the lack of any triggering signal. The MOST network is not connected at all (i.e. open-loop).

Question: What is needed to keep it running and take video input from the GVIF input?

• Is a MOST trigger or startup command sequence needed?
  • Do I need to close the MOST loop?

Issue 2: How can I compile node-carplay and react-carplay myself?

I have installed NPM and all apparently necessary installs for both, but I do not know what the commands are and which libraries are required prior to compilation. I am using RaspOS and MacOS for developments.

Question: Which libraries are required? Which compile commands are needed?

Some more information on the Jaguar XF 2008 2.7D touch screen:

part number: 8X23-10E889-AC
internal screen NLL 75-8693-111
graphic processor: ALPINE 51T55246Y02 - F0750A307

Particularities: