Accessing individual channels through MOST bus?

Hi everyone,

@rhys_m Thank you for putting together all the great resources on this topic! I came across MOST and your PiMost a few months ago while researching the inputs and outputs of the audio amplifier from the Jaguar XF.

I have a few questions if that’s alright. I am a researcher at the University of Southampton and our current project involves the perception of spatial audio in automotive environments. We will be conducting several listening experiments in a Jaguar XF (most probably 2012, B&W system). For that, we need to be able to access the individual audio channels. The main question is. Is it possible to do that, either through the amplifier (are there any physical individual inputs?) or through the MOST bus with your PiMost? Do you have any information on how the channels are processed/upmixed and where exactly? Or is the amplifier just taking a stereo input and sending it to the Left/Right sides with minimal processing? Any guidance/thoughts/pointers will be greatly appreciated.

TL;DR: Is there a way to send a 7.1 audio signal through the XF’s audio amplifier, or do we have to use our own amplifiers/processing?

Best,
Bogdan

Hi Bogdan,

Thanks for joining! Unfortunately it’s not possible to do this with JLR (from what I have found) Audio streams are all sent as stereo streams, and the amplifier then creates the dynamic sound stage. The only slight exception to this that I have seen is for parking sensors. It still seems that this audio is created by the amplifier, however the control MOST messages seem to control which speaker plays audio. I am guessing the amplifier itself generates the sound and frequency of the parking beeps based upon the messages received.

I am unsure if you could programmatically control balance/fader to achieve some spacial audio? The update rate could be pretty fast!

Please keep me updated! It is interesting stuff

Hi Rhys,